Back to Treating Chronic Pain and Preventing OUD

Roger Chou, MD, FACPRoger Chou, MD, FACP is a Professor in the Departments of Medicine, and Medical Informatics & Clinical Epidemiology at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) School of Medicine, and Staff Physician in the Internal Medicine Clinic at OHSU. Board certified in Internal Medicine, Dr. Chou’s research interests are systematic review methodology, meta-analysis, screening and preventive services, guideline development, and drug effectiveness. He has conducted systematic reviews in a number of areas, including chronic pain and musculoskeletal conditions, screening and prevention, diagnostic testing, and prognosis. He has served as Director of the American Pain Society clinical guidelines program, the GRADE methodologist for the World Health Organization’s Division of Reproductive Health, is a member of the Cochrane Back Review Editorial Board, and co-chair of the National Quality Forum Musculoskeletal Standing Committee. Dr. Chou is a PCSS mentor.


Melissa B. Weimer, DO, MCRMelissa B. Weimer, DO, MCR is board-certified in general internal medicine and addiction medicine. She is an expert in the safe and effective use of opioids and addiction medicine. Dr. Weimer has been involved in state and national efforts to reduce harms from opioids and improve physician knowledge about opioid safety and efficacy since 2010. Her clinical and research career focuses on chronic pain management in primary care, medication assisted treatment for the treatment of substance use disorders, and ways to improve and promote addictions treatment in disadvantaged populations. In 2017, she transitioned out of her role as Assistant Professor at Oregon Health & Science University to become the Chief of Behavioral Health and Medical Director of the Addiction Recovery Center at St. Peter’s Health Partners in Albany, NY.

Additional Expert Presenters:

Daniel P. Alford, MD, MPH
Patricia Bruckenthal, PhD, APRN-BC, ANP, FAAN
Phillip Coffin, MD
Erin E. Krebs, MD, MPH
Karen Miotto, MD
Patricia Pade, MD
John A. Renner Jr., MD
Michael Saenger, MD
Seddon Savage, MD
Patricia Cintra Franco Schram, MD
Kevin A. Sevarino, MD, PhD
Jodie Trafton, PhD
Kevin E. Vowles, PhD
R. Corey Waller, MD, MS
Lynn Webster, MD

PCSS would like to acknowledge the following speakers for their contributions to the American College of Physicians (ACP) video clips:

Daniel P. Alford, MD, MPH
Matthew J. Blair, MD, MS
Sheila E. Chapman, MD
Gregory Hood, MD
Jane M. Liebschutz, MD, MPH
Christopher W. Shanahan, MD, MPH